Dr. Mary Jane Irwin to Receive 2019 Phil Kaufman Award

October 2, 2019 ESD Alliance

MILPITAS, CALIF. –– October 1, 2019 –– Dr. Mary Jane Irwin, Evan Pugh Professor and A. Robert Noll Chair Emeritus in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Pennsylvania State University, has been selected to receive the 2019 Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design.

The Phil Kaufman Award is presented annually by the Electronic System Design Alliance (ESD Alliance) and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA). The award ceremony and dinner will be held Thursday, November 7, from 6:30 p.m. until 9:30 p.m. at The GlassHouse in San Jose, Calif. Registration information will be available soon at http://bit.ly/2naHXwL.

Dr. Irwin is being honored for her extensive contributions to EDA through her technical efforts, service to the community and leadership. During her tenure at Pennsylvania State University, she mentored countless students and contributed to technology through her substantial research and numerous publications. Her research included creating EDA tools then using them in computer architecture research, an approach that gave Dr. Irwin influence in both academia and industry.

According to Dr. Valeria Bertacco, Arthur F. Thurnau professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and associate dean for Physical Sciences and Engineering in the Rackham Graduate School at the University of Michigan, Dr. Irwin is a leader and mentor in the EDA and computer architecture communities. “Her multiple decades of standout contributions have inspired many young researchers to follow in her footsteps,” notes Dr. Bertacco. “Dr. Irwin’s research has been sought-after by industry and government alike because of its transformational and translational impact. Her work has led to novel designs that pushed the power envelope of computing and advanced modern design methodologies.”

“Dr. Irwin has had a tremendous impact on education, particularly VLSI systems design, computer arithmetic, EDA and low-power computer architecture,” adds Dr. David Atienza, president of IEEE-CEDA and professor of Electrical Engineering at EPFL. “Her course materials and textbooks have been used around the world to train numerous electrical and computer engineers who have become leaders in key IC and EDA companies such as Intel, AMD, Cadence and Mentor.”

Bob Smith, executive director of the ESD Alliance, offers: “Dr. Irwin’s research was visionary and ahead of its time. She became concerned about power consumption in the mid-1990s, long before it was a key topic. This made a substantial impact on current designs ranging from battery-operated devices to data centers.”

“Her technical achievements are great, her service to the community outstanding, and her support and mentoring for those who will follow are key factors in sustaining and growing the EDA field and opening it to an increasingly diversity of participants,” concludes Dr. Bertacco.

Previous Article
Automotive software specialist Elektrobit opens new software lab in Germany’s start-up capital

With the experience of one billion embedded devices in operation on the road, Elektrobit is the perfect mat...

Next Article
Polte Raises $12.5 Million in Series A-2 Funding Round

The Series A-2 funding will enable the company to focus on deployments of commercial and industrial applica...